Being Wrong

Lorri Zipperer Lorri at ZPM1.COM
Tue Jun 23 16:51:05 UTC 2015


I agree with Michael that Schulz's book is a good read.

She did a nice Tedtalk on it as well:

http://www.ted.com/talks/kathryn_schulz_on_being_wrong?

 

Lorri

 

Lorri Zipperer, Cybrarian

Zipperer Project Management

lorri at zpm1.com

www.zpm1.com

http://dbiosla.org/development/systems/index.html

http://patientsafetylib.blogspot.com/

http://www.linkedin.com/groups?gid=4412282

http://twitter.com/lzipperer

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/lorri-zipperer/0/661/904

Skype: lzipperer

 

LinkedIn Group / Patient Safety Partners: 

http://www.linkedin.com/groups?gid=163248

 

"everyone has to be his own leader, on his own sled."

Joseph Beuys

 

From: Bruno, Michael [mailto:mbruno at HMC.PSU.EDU] 
Sent: Tuesday, June 23, 2015 8:06 AM
To: IMPROVEDX at LIST.IMPROVEDIAGNOSIS.ORG
Subject: Re: [IMPROVEDX] Doctors Company Foundation Grant - Great News

 

Hi Bob,

 

In her excellent book "Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margins of Error,"
Katheryn Schulz explores this very question.  She points out that, when one
is actively in the process of making a mistake, being wrong feels exactly
the same as being right does! 

 

They have used copies available on Amazon.com for as little as $ 0.04 - well
worth the investment!

 

Mike

 

http://www.amazon.com/Being-Wrong-Adventures-Margin-Error/dp/0061176052

 

Two Reviews:

 

"Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to
our lives that we almost never even think about it."
-Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet



In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational
comesBeing Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in
error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that
they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist
magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be
celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of
error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you
perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever.

 

 

 







Moderator: David Meyers, Board Member, Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine

To unsubscribe from the IMPROVEDX list, click the following link:<br>
<a href="http://list.improvediagnosis.org/scripts/wa-IMPDIAG.exe?SUBED1=IMPROVEDX&A=1" target="_blank">http://list.improvediagnosis.org/scripts/wa-IMPDIAG.exe?SUBED1=IMPROVEDX&A=1</a>
</p>

HTML Version:
URL: <../attachments/20150623/f42bd271/attachment.html>


More information about the Test mailing list